Home > CBoxRun > 0.6 Update

0.6 Update

Since it’s been pretty quiet here lately, I thought I would drop a note about CBoxRun 0.6.  Work is slowly progressing on this release, but unfortunately my free time has been very limited for the past few months due to a greatly increased workload and several other commitments.  It will likely be several more months before I can put the finishing touches on an 0.6 release – if I had to guess right now, I would say we’re looking at July or thereabouts.

Of course, dates are always subject to change, but rest assured that I do intend to continue building and improving CBoxRun, and I will post a more comprehensive preview of 0.6 as soon as possible.  As always, any comments or suggestions are appreciated!

 

Categories: CBoxRun Tags:
  1. Will
    May 6, 2011 at 10:40 am

    I have been using CBox run for a couple of months now and I am very impressed — My wife and I are really looking forward to 0.6!

  2. May 8, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Thanks Will. I’m glad you like it – let us know if you would like to see any new features.

  3. Will
    June 4, 2011 at 8:20 am

    For my wife and other non-tech types, I think it would help if you had an installer that installed everything (including dosbox files) when you executed it.

    Also, CBoxRun doesn’t work when the Internet is out — Many times, that is when we want to play a Dos game.

    One more thing, I wish there was a list on the left side of the main screen that had many different computer power setting to pick from. For example, a picture of a typical 8086, 286, 386, 486, Pentium 1, etc that you could click to choose how fast you would like to run your game. It would look sharp too. Have the selection link to the configuration file, and it is changed, have it update the config file.

    Additionally, a much smaller request: I noticed that there wasn’t a box shot for EcoQuest.

  4. Alex
    August 17, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Hello!
    I love CboxRun, and I was wondering: when you are planning to release 0.6? You said it would probably be around July, but it is now Mid-August. I don’t want to nag, I’m just wondering if we can get an update on when it will be ready? 🙂

  5. Will
    August 21, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Hows the new version goin’?

  6. August 23, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Unfortunately, my work load hasn’t eased as much as I thought it would, so I haven’t had much time to work on the program lately. I would still like to get a release out by the end of the year. Sorry for the delay!

  7. NiGHTS
    October 10, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    looking forward to 0.6
    i love the customization cboxrun gives

  8. lugum
    November 21, 2011 at 6:22 am

    •Bulk import of games in the Games directory

    i can’t wait on this feature. i want a good dosbox frontend that could do that, the pain of having to add every game manually when you have over a thousand dos games.

  9. January 3, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    You’re the best!!! In a few time I’ll change the dosbox/boxer section into my website for dosbox/cboxrun because your program is faster, is easy, is a delicatessen for all the people who loves this kind of games.

    My suggestions for your new release will be the next:

    1-. Improvement of mobygames request (because sometimes the program crash when I’m looking for some specific games) EXAMPLE: Try to add skyroads x-mas version by mobygames database and no problem, but now add skyroads (the original version)… the program crash inmediatly 😦 (tried in 3 pc’s and the same crash…)

    2-. A game counter in a down-right corner will be really nice (to know how many games have you got into the program added)

    3-. Possibility of see DEVELOVER into the game list 😉 and will be really nice to have the option for add / delete the panels (publisher, year, developer, genre…)

    4-. I would like to have the possibility to change the screenshot / box picture in the original resolutions 320×200, 320×240, 640×400 & 640×480 and fit to the lateral corner ^^”

    5-. HIGH MEMORY: Auto. This option will be great!!

    That’s all to convert this program in a place of sky 😉

    Thank you so much for your work and happy new year!!!!

    • January 12, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      Thanks Sergio – I’m glad you like the program and those are great suggestions. I’m still working on the next version – no ETA yet unfortunately, but it’s going well.

      • January 13, 2012 at 5:11 am

        You’re welcome! I really love your software. 2 days ago my bed was full of 90’s original cd games from a lot of companies like apogee, epic megagames, id software… ohh… is nice to remember all that 🙂 I’ll stay tuned to your wordpress to know all the news about this great dos emulator

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

